Team Members:  Nick Pliszka (Coach)

Vic Pidhirny, Perry Allan, Garry "Buck" Carlson, Ron McEachern, Reg Barrett, 

Mike Ratushniak, Bob Clarkson, Barry Sharp, Wally Poachoff, Fred Burnick, Wally Sing, 

Bryan Chaboyer, Don Ek, Tom Marsh, Keith Baker, Randy Forbes, Red Hanson, 

Cooney Strong, Vern Watson, Jack Thomson

The Portage Mercurys men’s name was synonymous with winning fastball in Manitoba during the 1950s and early 1960s. The Mercurys won the league championship 11 times in a 13-year span between 1951 and 1963. In 1958, the Mercurys challenged the Winnipeg senior A champions, Kiewel’s Seals, for the provincial senior A crown. The Mercurys won the best-of-five series three games to one, for their first of four consecutive senior titles.

Share this article to...