Six individuals and three teams will be inducted into the Manitoba Softball Hall of Fame on May 6, 2023. The group of inductees includes 3 Athletes, 2 All Around, 1 Builder and 3 teams. The Manitoba Softball Hall of Fame & Museum Inc. recognizes individuals, teams and organizations for outstanding achievement in softball and/or for contributions to the sport of softball.

  • All Around Category: Adrian Brown; Ralph Nespor;
  • Athlete Category: Brandi Chammartin; Harvey Julseth; Deb Sonnenberg;
  • Builder Category: Phyllis & Larry Klimpke;
  • Team Category: 1980 to 1985 Legion 2 Fastball Club; 1994 to 1999 Moose’s Mob SloPitch Team; 1985 to 1990 Sioux Valley Dakota’s Fastball Team.

An independent committee, facilitated by Jack Coulson and Les Newman, reviewed nomination information on candidates for the Hall of Fame and selected the 2023 inductees. Doug Fraser, Jill Mathez, Al McPherson, Jim Nay, Ferdie Nelissen, Nelson Phillips, and Smitty Smith served on the committee.

The 20th induction banquet will be held at the Victoria Inn Hotel and Convention Centre in Winnipeg on May 6, 2023. Tickets at a cost of $85.00 are available from Les Newman phone 204-235-1674 or

Share this article to...