Team Members:

Leo Bouchard (Coach),  Art Penner (Playing Coach)

Harry Bueckert (Manager), Oscar Grubert (Sponsor), 

Daryl Steen (Trainer), Carey Penner (Bat Boy)

Murray Riddell, Grant Skinner, Ron Taylor, Buzz Lamond, 

Barry Braun, Al Norris, Ralph Ens, Ron Toews, Peter Weston, 

Ken Dilk, Ed Gilroy, Lloyd Penner, Ken Peters, Cliff Dyck, 

Dave Saulnier, Dave Shyiak

When the Western Major Fastball League was formed in 1973, the goal was to bring high-level men’s softball to the Prairie Provinces. Under the ownership of Manitoba Softball Hall of Fame members Harry Bueckert and Art Penner and with support from Champs Food Systems, the Winnipeg Colonels entered the league. Although the team struggled during the regular season against the top competition from Saskatchewan and Alberta, Colonels pulled it together in the playoffs. After eliminating first-place Saskatoon Jacks in the semi-finals, Colonels beat Calgary Braves in the best-of-nine final and brought the first WMFL championship to Winnipeg.

Share this article to...